Finding My Religion

28 Jul

I decided a couple of months ago that for my eighteenth birthday, I wanted to find a religion that utilized the things I believed most and didn’t have the extra “fluff” as I’ll call it. Not to bash other religions because I respect each and every one, they just do not serve the purpose in my life that they may serve for others. I chose taoism because I like the main ideas about living, breathing, and being “the way”. What is the way (dao)? I wish I could tell you,  but I’m just learning myself. It has done a lot for me lately including calm me down in stressful moments and remind me to be more mindful of my actions. I am taught to appreciate the purpose people and things serve rather than judge them by value. I believe everything goes through many cycles and death is just another part of the “life cycle”. I have much to learn and embrace as I go through my journey and I plan to keep track of everything here. This will be an amazing path.

 

Quote from Daode Jing: “Man is derived from nature. Nature is derived from Heaven. Heaven is derived from Tao. Tao is self derived.”

2 Responses to “Finding My Religion”

  1. meditationsfromthehive July 28, 2012 at 3:16 pm #

    Every religion is true one way or another. It is true when understood metaphorically. But when it gets stuck in its own metaphors, interpreting them as facts, then you are in trouble.
    Joseph Campbell

  2. NRRO ORTIZ ANGELO July 29, 2012 at 3:16 am #

    I’m proud of you.

Leave a Reply

