Buttermilk Bread

10 Sep

Buttermilk BreadA couple of mornings ago, I wanted to make use of some of the buttermilk I have in my refrigerator, so I looked up a buttermilk bread recipe online. After hunting for almost an hour, I realized every recipe required ingredients that I did not have. I finally came across The Kitchn and found a buttermilk bread recipe with a lot of variations. However, aside from the basic recipe, I did not have all of the ingredients to create any variations that I wanted. So I decided to just put the ingredients I have together and this mash up recipe came to life.

Buttermilk Bread (based on this recipe)

Makes one loaf

2 cups  plus 2 tablespoons cake flour

If you do not have cake flour use 2 cups (10 oz) all-purpose flour, 1 teaspoon salt, and 1/2 teaspoon of baking soda

1/2 cup (4 oz) white sugar

1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon cinnamon

Pinch of Nutmeg

1 tablespoon poppy seeds

1 teaspoon of vanilla extract

1 cup (8 oz) buttermilk

1 large egg

1/4 cup (2 oz) unsalted butter

 

Directions:

Heat the oven to 350°F. Line a silicone loaf ban with wax paper or grease a regular loaf pan.

Combine sifted flour, white sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, poppy seeds, and nutmeg in a medium mixing bowl and whisk.

Melt the butter and in a separate bowl whisk together with vanilla extract, buttermilk and egg.

Pour the wet ingredients over the dry ingredients. Use a whisk not a mixer to gently stir until you have a mostly mixed batter. You want to visibly see some of the dry ingredients so do not overmix.

Pour the batter into your pan and smooth it with a spatula so it is all of the corners. Bake for 50 minutes. Your end product should be golden, and a toothpick inserted into the center should come out clean. Let the bread cool in the pan for 20-30 minutes before removing and slicing.

 

My variations came together nicely and the bread was all gone in 3 days. At least I was able to photograph it first this time. I love when I wake up inspired to cook.

Leave a Reply

