Chocolate Banana Cream Pie

29 Sep

One of the best parts of being a chef is having a food imagination. What does that mean? It means coming up with concoctions based on ingredients one must and wants to use. I do this often. My most recent creation was Chocolate Banana Cream Pie with Peanut Butter crust. How did I get to this recipe? Well I had a very ripe banana I needed to cook with. So I started thinking of combinations that I know work well. Chocolate and peanut butter both came to mind. But I didn’t really want to make another cake or muffin batter, so I turned to pie. I also remembered I had leftover cream cheese that I wanted to make use of. After reading recipes that always required one or more ingredients I did not possess, I finally said ‘I’ll just make something original.’ So I started with a simple pie crust that did not require being rolled out. I figured, why not incorporate the peanut butter in this and focus more on the banana and chocolate for the filling.
Adjustments had to be made to stretch my ingredients, but it came out amazingly well.
I did not really create a recipe, but if anyone wants to know what I used, I’d be happy to share.

20120929-120025.jpg</a

4 Responses to “Chocolate Banana Cream Pie”

  1. Socialkenny September 30, 2012 at 9:58 pm #

    I don’t know shit about cooking and baking, but I do know that pie looks eatable.

    BTW, does all chefs have this food imagination thing?

    • Amanda N October 2, 2012 at 7:14 pm #

      chefs have a food imagination because they are innovative and know how to make things come together. however, not all people who cook have a food imagination especially if they strictly follow recipes.

  2. Nicole October 2, 2012 at 11:26 am #

    Hey πŸ™‚ I just nominated you for 3 blog awards πŸ™‚
    http://niicolea.wordpress.com/2012/10/02/blog-awards-long-overdue/

    • Amanda N October 2, 2012 at 7:12 pm #

      aww thanks! I’ve been trying to find more blogs to follow because I need to nominate more people for awards but I barely know eleven people. Any suggestions for meeting new people?

Leave a Reply

