My Holy Grail Recipe: Martha Stewart’s Buttercream Filling For French Macarons

26 Aug

Hey There,

First let me apologize for the lack of food posts. Food is my first love, it was my first word, and I WILL ALWAYS LOVE FOOOOOOD (yes, I had to have a little Whitney moment). So to get back into the food talk, I first want to ask, what food posts would you like to see? Restaurant reviews, recipe suggestions, and/or more photos of things I’ve prepared? Comment below and let me know (haha that rhymed).

Moving on, I had to let you all know the recipe that changed my life. The first time I made buttercream it was not good. It was extremely sweet and hard to work with. I was afraid of making buttercream ever again. Then, I developed an interest for making French Macarons (which everyone should try because they are so delicious) and I needed a good filling. Enter Martha Stewart and her wonderful recipe. After making the recipe, I thought “hey, I should use this for cakes”. This buttercream recipe is perfect for icing cakes as well. It is much easier to make, work with, and it has less sugar. It is my holy grail buttercream recipe and I doubt I will use another for quite some time.

Martha Stewart’s Parisian Macaron Filling Recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 3 large egg whites
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, at room temperature, cut into pieces

Directions:

  1. In the bowl of an electric mixer, whisk egg whites and sugar. Set mixer bowl over a saucepan of simmering water and heat mixture, whisking often, until it feels warm to the touch and sugar is dissolved, 3 to 5 minutes
  2. Transfer bowl to the mixer, and fit with the whisk attachment. Whip on high speed until mixture is stiff and shiny, 3 to 5 minutes.
  3. Add butter, one piece at a time, and continue mixing until butter is thoroughly incorporated. The filling can be kept, covered and refrigerated, up to 1 week. Bring to room temperature before stirring.

Usually when I make this, I use packaged egg whites because I don’t want to waste eggs by failing to separate one. This recipe uses granulated sugar and NOT confectioner’s sugar which is another huge plus! You can add all kinds of things to this simple recipe to make any flavored filling you desire. In the past, I have added vanilla extract, lemon curd, and cocoa powder. The possibilities are endless! If you like buttercream, you should try this recipe.

Until Next Time,

Chef o’Buddy Amanda

(Disclaimer: Once again , this is NOT my recipe. I do not own this recipe. Martha Stewart owns this recipe. I am just suggesting it to you.)

Leave a Reply

